Back to news

Lib Dem MPs who kept the pledge against tuition fee increases

Wednesday 15 April 2015 NUS News

In 2010 all 57 Liberal Democrat MPs signed the NUS 'Funding Our Future' pledge to vote against an increase in tuition fees. There were 21 Liberal Democrat MPs who kept their promise and voted against the coalition government's plan.

See the MPs who broke the pledge and voted for the increase in tuition fees in 2010.

Sign up to our Liar Liar campaign here and send a message that we want politicians we can trust.

Annette Brooke (Dorset Mid & Poole North)*

Sir Menzies Campbell (Fife North East)*

Michael Crockart (Edinburgh West)

Tim Farron (Westmorland & Lonsdale)

Andrew George (St Ives)

Mike Hancock (Portsmouth South)

Julian Huppert (Cambridge)

Charles Kennedy (Ross, Skye & Lochaber)

John Leech (Manchester Withington)

Stephen Lloyd (Eastbourne)

Greg Mulholland (Leeds North West)

John Pugh (Southport)

Alan Reid (Argyll & Bute)

Dan Rogerson (Cornwall North)

Bob Russell (Colchester)

Adrian Sanders (Torbay)

Ian Swales (Redcar)*

Mark Williams (Ceredigion)

Roger Williams (Brecon and Radnorshire)

Jenny Willott (Cardiff Central)

Simon Wright (Norwich South)

*Not standing for MP in 2015