Back to news

NUS LGBT Award Winners 2011

Tuesday 7 June 2011 LGBT

The winners of the NUS LGBT Awards 2011 were announced at a special ceremony at the LGBT Campaign Conference in May 2011.

These awards recognise the significant contribution of LGBT societies and individuals students to improving the lives of LGBT students.

Congratulations to the winners who are as follows:

LGBT Society of the Year

The University of Nottingham Students’ Union LGBT

LGBT Society Development Award

The University of East London LGBT Society

HE LGBT Student of the Year 

Sam Whalley,  UCLAN SU LGBT Society Chair

FE LGBT Student of the Year

Daniel Hefferland, Alton College Gay-Straight Alliance

LGBT Campaign of the Year

The University of Essex LGBT and Friends Society

LGBT Event of the Year

Aberystwyth LGBT Society

Special commendation

Cardiff University Students' Union LGBT+ Association