Back to news

MPs who broke the NUS ‘Funding Our Future’ Pledge

Thursday 16 April 2015 NUS News

During the 2010 election campaign, just under 1,500 prospective Members of Parliament signed the NUS Funding our Future pledge:

'I pledge to vote against any increase in fees in the next parliament and to pressure the government to introduce a fairer alternative.'

Sign up to our Liar Liar campaign here and send a message that we want politicians we can trust.

Breaking the pledge

Signatories came from across the political spectrum. Of the 1,477 prospective parliamentary candidates who signed the pledge there were:

  • 531 Liberal Democrat
  • 265 Labour
  • 17 Conservative
  • 313 Green
  • 259 UKIP
  • 50 SNP
  • 10 Plaid Cymru
  • 32 Other

All 57 elected Liberal Democrat MPs signed the pledge.

See the 21 Lib Dem MPs kept the pledge

Broke the pledge – Voted for an increase in fees

On the evening of the vote on 9 December 2010, the following 28 Liberal Democrats broke their promise:

Danny Alexander (Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and Strathspey)

Norman Baker (Lewes)

Alan Beith (Berwick-upon-Tweed)*

Jo Swinson (East Dunbartonshire)

Gordon Birtwistle (Burnley)

Tom Brake (Carshalton and Wallington)

Jeremy Browne (Taunton Deane)*

Sarah Teather (Brent Central)*

Malcolm Bruce (Gordon)*

Paul Burstow (Sutton & Cheam)

Vince Cable (Twickenham)

David Ward (Bradford East)

Alistair Carmichael (Orkney & Shetland)

Nick Clegg (Sheffield Hallam)

Edward Davey (Kingston & Surbiton)

Steve Webb (Thornbury & Yate)

Lynne Featherstone (Hornsey & Wood Green)

Don Foster (Bath)*

Stephen Gilbert (St Austell & Newquay)

Andrew Stunell (Hazel Grove)*

Duncan Hames (Chippenham)

Nick Harvey (Devon North)

David Heath (Somerton & Frome)*

Michael Moore (Berwickshire, Roxburgh & Selkirk)

John Hemming (Birmingham Yardley)

Mark Hunter (Cheadle)

Norman Lamb (Norfolk North)

David Laws (Yeovil)

*Not standing for MP in 2015

Broke the pledge – Absent or abstained from the vote

And these eight MPs were absent or abstained from the vote. We were clear that the pledged stated opposition to an increase in fees. Abstaining didn’t cut it. They were:

Stephen Williams (Bristol West)

Sir Robert Smith (Aberdeenshire West & Kincardine)

Lorely Burt (Solihull)

Martin Horwood (Cheltenham)

Simon Hughes (Bermondsey & Old Southwark)

Chris Huhne (Eastleigh)

Tessa Munt (Wells)

John Thurso (Caithness, Sutherland & Easter Ross)

In addition, three Conservative MPs signed and broke the pledge:

Bob Blackman MP (Harrow East)

Ben Wallace MP (Wyre and Preston North)

Lee Scott MP (Ilford North) - abstained from the vote