Back to news

NUS announces #GenerationVote Twitter Hustings in student seats!

Wednesday 17 May 2017 Campaigns News

We’re putting student issues at the forefront of the 2017 general election with a series of online Hustings, which begin tomorrow!

Over the next three weeks, we will be targeting six constituencies across the UK that are home to large student populations and will invite all candidates to take part in our special online hustings on Twitter.

We’ll be grilling candidates on our election policy asks for the millions of students across the UK. We’ve also asked local higher and further education SUs to put forward their questions to candidates on the burning issues affecting their students.

The first of our hustings takes place tomorrow (Thursday 18 May) and features candidates from Ealing Central and Acton - one of the most marginal seats in London!

To follow all the action as it happens, tune into our @NUSUK Twitter page from 2pm.

Our #GenerationVote Twitter hustings will take place on the following dates...

Ealing Central Acton
When? Thursday 18 May (2-2.30pm)
Who’s confirmed? Rupa Huq (Labour), Joy Morrissey (Conservative) and Jon Ball (Liberal Democrat)
👉 Recap on the debate

Cardiff North
 Friday 26 May (1-1.30pm)
Who’s confirmed? Anna McMorrin (Labour), Matt Hemsley (Liberal Democrat), Steffan Webb (Plaid Cymru)

Belfast South
 Tuesday 30 May (2.30-3pm)
Who’s confirmed? Alasdair McDonnell (Social Democratic and Labour Party), Clare Bailey (Green Party), Paula Bradshaw (Alliance Party)

 Wednesday 31 May (1-1.30pm)
Who’s confirmed? Daniel Zeichner (Labour), John Hayward (Conservative) and Julian Huppert (Liberal Democrat)

When? Friday 2 June (1-1.30pm) - Postponed 
Who’s confirmed? Karen Lee (Labour), Caroline Kenyon (Liberal Democrat), Ben Lryman (Green Party)

Dumfriesshire, Clydesdale & Tweeddale
Monday 5 June (1-1.30pm)
Who’s confirmed? Anna McMorrin (Labour), Matt Hemsley (Liberal Democrat), Steffan Webb (Plaid Cymru)


Have you registered to vote yet?

You have until 11.59pm on Monday 22 May!