Back to news

NUS Awards finalists announced

Monday 6 June 2011NUS News

Judges including Shami Chakrabarti CBE, the BBC’s Sean Coughlan and Endsleigh Managing Director Ian Passmore have delivered their verdicts on the 391 entries to the NUS Awards 2011.

After hours of deliberation the judges confirmed which students and students’ unions are in the final reckoning for an NUS Award. The gongs will be presented at a special ceremony in Leeds on 20 July.

Across 13 categories the NUS Awards celebrate excellence in the student movement and the outstanding contribution students and students’ unions make to the lives of students and their communities.

NUS President Aaron Porter said: “I am very impressed by the quality of the entries this year. It has been an outstanding 12 months for the student movement and the nominations for this year’s NUS Awards back this up.

“I would like to congratulate everyone who has entered for making it a great contest to judge. Good luck to all those who have been shortlisted for their outstanding work – I look forward to hearing more about all the finalists in Leeds on 20 July.”

Endsleigh Chief Executive and NUS Awards judge Ian Passmore said: “Endsleigh is supporting the NUS Awards because it underlines and celebrates the importance of excellence in the contribution of students and students' unions to everyday life and society.

“I very much enjoyed going through the many entries to this year’s Awards. The calibre of the work that has taken place across the student movement has been nothing short of outstanding.

“Many of the qualities we value – leadership, determination, commitment, teamwork, exceeding expectations – are evident in the NUS Awards finalists. We applaud the achievements of all those who are nominated and are proud to be the official partner for the NUS Awards 2011.”

The shortlist:

Endsleigh Student of the Year
Ross Grant - Aberdeen University Students' Association
Tayaba Nicholson - University of Manchester Students' Union
Emily Nix - Sheffield Students’ Union

Endsleigh Technology Innovation Award
Liverpool Guild of Students and Liverpool Students’ Union (joint nomination)
University of Derby Students' Union
University of York Students' Union

Further Education Students’ Union of the Year
Canterbury College Students' Union
Cornwall College Students' Union
Dudley College Students' Union

Higher Education Students' Union of the Year
Leeds University Union
Loughborough Students' Union
Northumbria Students' Union
Queen's University Belfast Students' Union
University of Bath Students' Union
University of Exeter Students’ Guild

Best Student Media
The National and London Student Journalism Support Networks - University of London (submitted by Queen Mary Students' Union)
Forge Media - Sheffield Students’ Union
Nouse - University of York Students' Union

Campaign of the Year
Bradford College Students' Union- Save the FreeCityBus
Edinburgh University Students' Association - Write to Mike
Goldsmiths Students' Union- Save the nursery

Club or Society of the Year
Exchange 360 - Edinburgh University Students’ Association
Mental Wealth - Cardiff University Students' Union
SIFE Sussex - University of Sussex Students' Union

Community Relations Award
Chester Students' Union
Sheffield Students’ Union
Students' Union Bournemouth University

Course Representative of the Year
Beth Fazackerley - Northumbria Students' Union
Jonathan Isaacs –University of Salford Students' Union
Francesca Rust & Emily Short - Anglia Ruskin Students' Union

Equality and Diversity Award
Cardiff University Students' Union
Northumbria Students’ Union
Queen's University Belfast Students' Union

Simpson/King Students’ Union Staff Member of the Year
Graham Atkinson – Northumbria Students' Union
Kathryne Fraser – Sheffield Students’ Union
Chris Spencer – Loughborough Students' Union

Student Journalist of the Year
Matthew Burgess - Sheffield Students’ Union
Simon Murphy - Newcastle University Union Society
Nick Stylianou- Students' Union Royal Holloway, University of London

Student Unionist of the Year
Ben Dowen - Sheffield Hallam University Students' Union
Kim Hughes - Dudley College Students' Union
Tas Siddeeque - Loughborough Students' Union